Looking for an Endurance alternative?
Updated 1 October 2026 · competitor facts re-checked on 23 August 2026, the Setapp listing on 30 September 2026 · disclosure: WattMate is our app, and for some jobs the honest pick isn't us: Endurance's Setapp listing goes back to macOS 10.13, and we need macOS 14 and Apple silicon. Everything else said here about Endurance comes from their own page.
Credit where it's due: Endurance has been doing this since 2015, and it does something we deliberately don't. It acts. When the charge drops past a level you set, it dims the screen gradually, hides background apps so macOS App Nap puts them to sleep, suspends background browsers, and pauses background services. One payment of $20, or it comes with Setapp, and there's a two-week demo. If you want the machine to just stretch what's left without you thinking about it, that is exactly what it's for.
WattMate is the opposite philosophy, and it's worth being blunt about it: it acts on nothing. It doesn't dim, throttle, hide or pause a single thing. It measures, names what's spending the charge, and tells you what quitting it would buy, then checks whether it was right.
Acting and accounting
The difference shows up in what each one can tell you afterwards. Endurance's promise is "about 20% more runtime", their own words, from their own testing. That's a claim about their machine under their load. It isn't a claim about your Mac this afternoon, and the app doesn't come back later to check it on yours.
WattMate names a number before you do anything (quit this, get about 12 minutes back), and two minutes after you quit, it re-measures and prints what actually changed. When the effect can't be separated from everything else happening at the time, it says that instead of taking the credit. That's the whole reason the app exists: a projection you can't check is a vibe.
There's also a units difference worth knowing if you're comparing readouts. Their page does not say what unit Endurance reports app energy in, and the phrase "Energy Impact" does not appear on it. WattMate reports watts the battery is paying, split between apps by their share of the chip's energy counters, because a score can't be turned into minutes and a watt can.
Side by side
| Endurance | WattMate | |
|---|---|---|
| Acts to stretch the charge | Yes (dims, hides, suspends, pauses) | No (measures only) |
| Runs on Intel Macs | Not stated on their page | No (Apple silicon only) |
| Oldest macOS supported | macOS 10.13 (their Setapp listing) | macOS 14 |
| Power per app | Unit not stated on their page | Watts off the battery, split by chip counters |
| Minutes back for quitting an app | Not claimed | Yes (named first, then measured) |
| Checks its own promise afterwards | No ("about 20%" from the vendor's own tests) | Yes (the quit receipt) |
| Overnight wake-ups, by name | Not claimed | Yes, from the macOS power log |
| Price (Aug 2026) | $20 one-time, or via Setapp · two-week demo | $9.99/yr or |
One thing worth checking before you buy: the newest entry in Endurance's own update
feed (enduranceapp.com/appcast.xml) is version 3.2.6, dated
28 November 2022, while the download button on their site serves 3.3.0, so
the app's built-in update check has nothing newer to find than a build from 2022.
Checked 18 August 2026. We haven't run the app ourselves, and this is a fact
about their update feed, not a verdict about their software.
Questions people ask
Does Endurance make the battery last longer?
It acts on the machine to stretch the charge you currently have, by dimming and throttling. That is a different thing from finding what is spending the charge, and the two can be used together.
Which macOS versions and Macs does it support?
Their own site does not say. We checked their pages on 23 August 2026 for "requires", "Intel", "Apple silicon" and every macOS version name and found nothing. Their Setapp listing says "macOS 10.13 or later" and names no processor.
What does WattMate do differently?
It measures rather than acts: watts per app, minutes back for quitting one, then a re-measurement that either confirms the promise or says the effect could not be isolated.
Can I run both?
Yes. Endurance changes machine settings, we only read counters.
Who should pick which
Pick Endurance if you want the Mac to stretch the charge by itself and you'd rather not think about which app is at fault, or if you're on an Intel Mac or an older macOS, where WattMate simply doesn't run. Those aren't consolation reasons; for a lot of people they're the whole decision.
Pick WattMate if dimming and pausing feels like treating the symptom and you want the cause named. One app is usually most of the bill, and knowing which one (with the minutes it costs you, checked afterwards) is a different kind of fix than making everything a bit slower.
More comparisons: WattMate and TurtleBar · WattMate and Juicy · WattMate and AlDente · all four jobs, side by side · all the comparisons
See where the hours go
10 days free, no card · Requires macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon